2014 Awards – Nomination Criteria

Insight in Fundraising Awards 2014 – NOMINATION CRITERIA

The Insight in Fundraising Awards are the initiative of the Institute of Fundraising’s Special Interest Group (SIG) for Insight in Fundraising and have been designed to recognise and celebrate excellence in data analysis and its insight in charity fundraising.

The award categories represent the application of insight, data, analytics and campaign management in delivering outstanding fundraising performance.

All awards nominations will be judged against three key criteria:

«   Insight           «   Innovation           «   Impact

 It is essential that entrants provide concrete evidence of results and how these have contributed to the overall success of the charity.  We expect to see rigour in methodology, the discovery of fresh and genuine insight, executional elegance and demonstrable value created for the organisation in areas such as supporter experience, income generated and ROI.

NEW Categories!

For 2014, based on feedback from previous entrants and our judges, we have added two new Core Discipline categories for Predictive Analytics and Performance Reporting & Data Visualisation specifically; plus we have extended our Special Awards categories to include Insight on a Shoestring and Rising Star.

IoF National Award

The IOF National Award 2014 – Best Use of Insight will be shortlisted from the winners of the Insight in Fundraising Awards 2014.


Nominations are open to all fundraisers, their support agencies and supplier partners. Applicants can make as many nominations as they wish and may enter the same campaign for more than one category where applicable. There is no charge to make a nomination.

Campaign and Technique-based awards

Nominations for the core disciplines and campaign-based categories should be in respect of recent activity completed and measured by 10th March 2014.

Individuals and team awards 

The time periods over which activity must have taken place will vary widely depending on the category. Specific time periods are referred to on individual nomination forms.

Nomination Deadline

All entry forms must be received by 5.00pm on Monday 10th March 2014. No entries will be accepted after this date.

Who nominates?

Self-nomination is the most common route but you are free to nominate another organisation/individual as long as you can provide the details required in the nomination form. If an organisation is proud of its work and/or practice then it is eligible to nominate itself whether charity or agency/supplier.  You cannot self-nominate for the Rising Star or Outstanding Contribution Categories.
Authenticity guarantee

Applicants must confirm that what they have written in their nomination, to the best of their knowledge, is legal, decent, honest and truthful. The SIG committee and the awards judging panel reserve the right to ask for additional information from the entrant, and to make further enquiries where appropriate.